A few years ago, traveling has become extremely popular among Millennials. Almost every month, every airline has some sort of a promo fare offering. There are lots of travel stories and guides being published left and right. 

But when the pandemic began, everything changed. Millennials found themselves stuck in their homes, posting throwback travel photos, wishing for the day the pandemic ends and everyone will be able to safely travel again.

While waiting for that day and hoping it will this year 2021, here’s my suggestion on what Millennial travelers should do:

Rockefeller Center, New York 2019

Make a list of all countries and places you want to visit once pandemic ends – A few years back I made a list of all the places I wanted to visit, but during the pandemic I found myself re-assessing my list. I was keen on visiting Central Asia last year, I’ve been planning for this trip for the longest time now but for some reason, my plans did not push through.

Then a few months back, I ended up wanting to do a winter in Moscow visit first. Reading blogs on what to see and do in Moscow makes me excited and thrilled to plan my next travel.

Salt Lake, Isfahan 2016

Make a plan for your next travel journey – After making a list or re-arranging if you already had one, the next step would be to make a plan. What country or place do you want to visit first, make an itinerary, make it a detailed one including the possible additional cost you will incur for your airfare and accommodation. I believe once the pandemic ends, it might take some time for the fares and accommodation prices to go back pre-pandemic since they have recoup for the losses they encountered during the pandemic.

Also, make sure to account the cost for personal safety, like a travel insurance and PPEs. There are news going around that there might come a time in the future where you will be required to have a vaccine passport, so make sure to keep up with the latest news.

Learn some photography/photo editing skills – last month I found a lot of helpful tips on making travel photos interesting on Tiktok. I signed up for some free photography lessons advertised on Instagram. I ended u practicing these skills in our backyard so when the time comes, I will be able to execute those properly. Make the most of the time while waiting the time we can all get back on our traveling shoes.

Bank feature for sub-accounts, not paid promotion

Save up some travel money – 5 years ago I started setting up a travel fund. I automatically allocate a portion of my monthly earnings to it. My bank has a feature of creating sub-accounts so it is easier for me to monitor my savings and limit my spending.

And even though I do not have plans in the near future to travel, I still continue to put some to it. This way, when the pandemic ends, I can travel immediately and with ease without breaking my personal savings.  

2 thoughts on “4 things Millennial travelers should do during the pandemic

Leave a comment